Favorite “Skin Focus” Foundations

We all have those days where our skin may not be as happy as we are, on days like this I like to make sure I use products on my skin that are light weight and breathable.  It’s a common misconseption that in order to get great coverage that you need to pack on your makeup, NOT TRUE!!  I believe that one should let their skin shine through and only really cover what they need too with concealer.  I will be sharing my top 3 foundations to get a nice a perfect base that doesn’t look caked on!

NARS Sheer Glow  Foundation

This foundation is absolutely amazing, it gives a very nice medium coverage, but is buildable. I love this foundation for when my skin is feeling a bit “dull”.  The glow is not an intense finish, however it does give a nice healthy look.  I have extremely sensitive skin and have never experienced any issues with this foundation, also a little goes a long way.  I would recommend this foundation for those with normal to dry skin, however, those with oily skin can use it as long as they set their t-zone with a powder!

 

MAC Face and Body Foundation

The MAC Face and Body is a new obsession of mine!  Not only is it less expensive than your average high end foundation, but you also get almost double the amount!  Your average bottle of foundation will come with 1.0 FL OZ, the smaller bottle of Face and Body comes with a whole 1.7 FL OZ while the larger bottle has a little over 4 FL OZ ! This is an extremely sheer foundation, and by sheer I pretty much mean tinted water.  With that being said, this is a water based foundation, but it is buildable to a medium coverage!!  This is my everyday foundation because you can layer it on and it still looks and feels like skin.  This product is amazing for photography and belongs in every makeup artist’s kit!! This foundation has no SPF is perfect for flash photography, it is water resistant as well as long wearing.  For a bit more coverage I like to mix a little bit of my MAC select cover-up concealer.  I will repurchase this foundation forever.

Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation

This foundation is an all time favorite of mine. Bobbi Brown Cosmetics has a special place in my heart, mainly because it was the first high end brand I ever tried when I started getting into makeup, but also because all Bobbi Brown products are amazing.  Bobbi is all about embracing your natural beauty and simply enhancing it with makeup.  This line has a great selection of foundation shades, all foundations contain a yellow undertone, which 97% of all women have.  For those that have a slight pink undertone, yellow tone should be used to neutralize your skin.  Another thing I love is how sensitive skin friendly her products are!  The skin foundation has a coverage similar to a tinted moisturizer or a BB cream and is light weight.  This product definitely gives you that “my skin but better” appearance, which is what we all live for!!

 

Leave a Reply

