Thai Inspo: Spring Rolls

Todays recipe is a fun, easy, and hands on cook!  As I have mentioned in a previous post, I love Thai food, I love eating it and I love cooking it.  Along with many other passions of mine, trying new foods and recreating them are on of my favorites things to do.  These spring rolls are fresh and pretty easy to make.  I decided to make my own peanut sauce for this recipe, nothing is more rewarding than doing something yourself!!  For a more low carb version I went with zoodles instead of traditional egg or rice noodles, the only carbs in the entire recipe are the rice paper wraps and the peanut butter in the sauce.  Feel free to customize this however you want, opt for a vegetarian option by doing this with all veggies!

Ingredients…

  • A pack of rice paper wraps (6” diameter)
  • Ground beef (use as much as you need, I used about 1/4 lb and this made about 5 spring rolls.
  • white onion
  • ginger powder (to taste)
  • garlic powder (to taste)
  • soy sauce (to taste)
  • splash of rice vinegar
  • zucchini (Julienne it)
  • Head of lettuce
  • chopped green onion

For the peanut sauce…

  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves
  •  Directions: blend all of the components either in a food processor , or by hand.  I used a hand blender.  Mix everything until it is fully and well combined.

What to do….

I recommend making the peanut sauce as step one!

  • heat a skillet and add your ground beef.
  • add all of your seasonings to the beef (ginger, garlic, soy sauce)
  • while your ground beef is cooking, chop up your white onion, I used about a fourth of an entire onion for the amount of ground beef I was using. Add your onion to the ground beef and let it finish cooking
  • Once the beef is done then strain it.
  • Soak your Julienne zucchini in a dash of rice vinegar , not too much though because there is a lot of rice vinegar in your peanut sauce!
  • grab a wrap of rice paper and dip it in some warm water to make is mailable
  • begin assembling! I first placed a leaf of lettuce and then added my beef, zucchini,green onion, and then I drizzled some peanut sauce.
  • fold the side ends of your wrap together then roll, make sure its sealed.
  • Keep making them until you run out of meat!
  • you can drizzle some addition peanut sauce on top if you’d like!
Leave a Reply

